Not about Resolutions

Posted: December 26, 2010 in love, relationships, Uncategorized

Though my 2010 began with a (possible) concussion from my friend Eric’s stereo and my skull colliding, oh ten turned out to be a memorable year. Many thanks to all who gave me a place to crash, introduced me to a new band/book, listened to me complain about college woes, and simply made my life better by being there.

  • Traveled to The Tabernacle in ATL with 4 friends to mosh to Flogging Molly; and yes, I crowd surfed for my first (and last) time.
  • I survived a semester of 4 upper-level English classes, French IV, and an Education class.
  • Graduated College after 5.5 years, 20lbs, writing 43 papers, developing a taste for beer, learning what “over-draft” means, and making a few new friends.
  • Saw Ray LaMontagne sing “Hold You in My Arms,” live and cried.
  • Dressed up as an 80’s work-out chick zombie.
  • Moved my best friend to Oklahoma and cried the whole way home.
  • Spent a week in West Virginia as a staff worker for a youth group, and learned more about community from them than I could have ever taught myself.
  • Almost froze to death at Barren Lake Resort in KY alongside some of the best people I know.  http://www.benchmark.org/
  • Sang my lungs out to Garth AND Trisha at the Nashville Flood Benefit Concert.
  • kissed a boy and liked it
  • Found myself fortunate enough to sponsor 1 1/2 angel tree kids this Christmas
  • Overwhelmed by the generosity and forgiveness of an employer and friend.
  • Belted “The Funeral” by Band of Horses at Nashville’s Live on The Green
  • Spent 3 weeks at Mallory, Jonathan, and Eric’s houses while I was homeless.  I love you guys.
  • Found a church where I can be real.  Where I am challenged.  And it doesn’t hurt that the band’s pretty legit too!  😉
  • Was lucky enough to have 12 of the best people I know show up to celebrate my 23rd year of life.
  • Watched Inception in theaters, and I’m still angry about the ending.
  • Learned that good looking, charismatic, guys with college degrees, and decent families are actually attracted to me.
  • Had my mind blown from reading both We The Living by Ayn Rand, and Radical by Davd Platt.
  • Came in first place in a poker tournament, winning a good 2o bucks cash and some new friends.
  • Tried to drink an entire Guinness without getting sick to my stomach.  Didn’t happen.
  • Ran, walked, and cried through my first haunted house experience.  Though I was in the fetal position in a state-of-panic, I made it out alive.  Thanks Monster Mountain.http://www.monstermountain.net/
  • This bridge  gave me an anxiety attack before I was even on it, thanks to some major “coaxing” from friends I made it across, only stopping to freak out once.

Leave a comment